The Mystery of Traffic

One thing I will never figure out is the traffic patters that surround the city. I travel a reverse commute of 18 miles out of Somerville to the middle of no-where Concord. If I leave at 7:30am it takes me an hour to get 18 miles. If I wait ’till 8:20 to leave, it generally takes me 35 mins. Same route.

On my way home, if I leave at 3pm (although rare THAT early), I get home in a brisk 25 minutes. If I wait ’till 4:45, that same commute takes about 45 minutes. If I wait till 6, forget it. Ill be in traffic for a solid hour.

Remember, this is all a “reverse commute” when I am going out of the city in the mornings, and back in the evenings.

I have used Waze in the past to help me learn and avoid traffic patterns which worked well until everyone else caught on and they started diverting traffic in Arlington. Now that I’m using an Android phone, today I tried Google drive. I must say I am very impressed. Yes, I know Google owns Waze and pulls a good amount of its data from Waze reports, but when driving it will show you alternate routes along the way and the estimated time difference (2 minutes slower, 1 minute faster, etc.).

I really need a new clutch in my car, the city driving is killing it quicker.

14102255_10157371952825084_4668611735444095621_n

Leave a Reply

