How did depression and addiction become such taboo?

I received a lot of comments, notes, emails, and Facebook posts about my personal fight with depression and addiction. Unfortunately my clinical depression and crippling anxiety has caused me to want to stay hidden about these types of issues.

After receiving the response I did yesterday, it made me think. How did these things become such taboo in our society to talk about? A lot of people experience the same thing but no one feels safe about talking about it.

Everyone reading this (And especially if you’re from Massachusetts) probably knows someone who has been affected by addiction. I can also guarantee anyone reading this either is, or has someone close to them affected by depression. So many people are affected. The taboo needs to be broken.

Personally I have tried talking about my issues with addiction to my close friends and family, and most of them understand it’s a disease and not a choice. I know this personally as there have been times in the past when in my head I didn’t want to use, but 3 hours later found myself buying a bag of dope or pills. I didn’t to, there is just something about addiction that causes your brain to run on auto-pilot with these things.

Anyways I’ll keep this short but I wanted to follow up from my post yesterday after thinking about it last night as I lay in bed falling asleep with my mind racing.

One thought on “How did depression and addiction become such taboo?

  1. You won’t feel like this forever It’s one step at a time… Take a step back and realize how much you’ve accomplished so far. You’ve been stuck in a bad place for a while but you’re not lost you just need to try and change your perspective on things. Don’t think for a second you’re alone in this because people care a lot more than you know. And stay away from the drugs PLEASE it’d be nice to keep you around.

    Like

Leave a Reply

